Milam County Historical Commission
Milam County, Texas
Milam County Historical Commission - Milam County, TX
Statue of Ben Milam at Milam County, TX Courthouse
Old Junior High School Building, Rockdale, TX
Milam County Courthouse - Cameron, TX
Preserve America
Gay Hill School
From Rockdale: US 79 west to CR 434
Established about 1870 as a one room schoolhouse.
In 1896 first elected school trustees:
J. C. King
T. J. Eiland
H. J. Alford
In 1910 it was enlarged to a two room schoolhouse
In 1929 a three room schoolhouse was constructed
to teach two years of High School
Consolidated with Rockdale schools in Sept. 1946
Teachers for the 1929 school term starting Oct.
21, were:
Ivy Tidwell-Principal
Stella Bounds Murphree-Intermediate-Taught for 12
Mary Frances Murphree-Primary
Vashti Smith-Primary teacher from Sept. 1931 to
May 1944-13 yrs
School Trustees for 1929 school term:
Calvin L. Eiland
Alfred Gerstenberger
John Timmerman
Marker Erected May 7, 1988
Milam County Commissioner Pct. 4 C. Dalton Caffey
- Former Student

Second Marker:
Fletcher, Texas Gay Hill Community Postmasters:
Wm. H. Fletcher July 26, 1898 - Feb. 10, 1899
Isaac G. McGinnis Feb. 10, 1899 - Feb 10, 1902
Gust. F. Peiser Feb. 10, 1902 - July 7, 1904
Isaac G. McGinnis July 7, 1904 - Dec. 31, 1904

Gay Hill School
Teachers 1st & 2nd Schools to 1929
Mamie Aldridge
Margaret Boyce
J. B. Chapman 1899
Rosie Cook
Grace (Gregory) Eiland
Winnie & Grace Fitzgerald
Addie Galbreath
Moody Galbreath
Mr. Luckey
Mr. & Mrs. Isaac G. McGinnis
John & Helen Rettig
Helen Sapp
Fredia Slaughter
Paul Tuma

Teachers-3rd School - 1929 to 1946
Jessie Ferguson
Birge Gregory
Mrs. J. M (Alleida) Moorman
Grover Reat
Erected May 4, 1991
Gay Hill TX School